Once upon a time

19 Mar

Once upon a time… I was a little girl who read a lot and watched too much TV, but let’s focus on the reading here. I was lucky enough to grow up at a time when young-adult fiction was booming in France. A lot of the available titles were translations from American authors and a lot of what I know about American culture I learned reading these books.

One publisher had this collection that I liked, Castor poche Flammarion, aimed at kids aged 9 to 12. In these books, they had a little introduction about the author of the original book, but also about the translator. In her introduction, Rose-Marie Vassallo explained that she became a translator to share books that she enjoyed with a larger audience. That made quite an impression on my 10 year old self. I read a large number of books that she translated, so I got to read those lines several times. Each time, I thought: « how cool! »

Last Thursday at the Rencontres de la traduction, Rose-Marie Vassallo was standing just a few meters away from me. So, I got a chance to thank her for sharing these books with me and maybe helping me decide what I wanted to do with my life. How cool!

Laisser un commentaire

